Rolling Heron's Totally Amazing Blog

Random rants of sillyness

About what I want pt.1 06/09/2009

Filed under: About — Tasha @ 2:39 AM

Well, not with this headgear, obviously

Well, not with this headgear, obviously

I want to finish school. Ok, so it’s not gonna happen this year. I’ve made my peace with that. Well, no. I haven’t. But I’ve made as much peace as my personality allows. So, it’s gonna be another year or two til I’m done. The probability of me getting a job I would want goes down by some 75%… OH DEAR SWEET CHRIST WHAT AM I GOING TO DO?! No, no. No panicking, for Tesla’s sake. So, I want to finish school with an acceptable GPA (which, in my books would be about 8, if at all possible).

I want a better GPA
Here’s a list of subjects I still need to pass:
01. Math 2
02. Economics
03. Methods of numerical modeling
04. Machine elements 1
05. Dynamics
06. Machine elements 2
07. Dynamics of machines
08. Production planning and execution
09. Technical cybernetics
10. Production technology
11. Heat transfer
12. Random occurrences (statistics)
13. Automatization
14. Mechatronics systems 1
15. Mechatronics systems 2
16. Microcontroller systems 1
17. Microcontroller systems 2
18. Laser systems
19. FMS&CIM systems 1 (I have no idea in hell what those letters stand for)
20. FMS&CIM systems 2

This is a list of exams that I already have:
01. Statics and kinematics
02. Electro…ummm… No idea how to translate that, but trust me, I have it
03. Materials
04. Math 1
05. Technical drawing
06. Physics
07. Chemistry
08. Material resistance
09. Numerical methods (this is some oldschool programming in Fortran)
10. Thermodynamics
11. Fluid mechanics
12. Experimental methods (it’s actually not as sinister (or interesting) as it sounds)
13. Material resistance 2
14. English
15. Design methodology
16. Seminar 1 (like a really extensive paper on some topic)
17. Seminar 2 (even more extensive)

Yes, it is quite an extensive list. But please note the bold section. These are the ones I have a good grade (that is one that is more than or equal to 8). That means I have exactly 7 grades that make my GPA good and 10 grades that make it SUCK ASS! Oh, and also, I have 20 exams to make it right. So that is what I would like to do.

I want to pass a French and German test.
I’ve studied French in school and I was fuckawesome at it. I studied a bit of German and I was pretty decent at it. Now I can’t speak a word of French, unless it’s to ask for a baguette. And that to me is a fail of cataclysmic proportions. So I would like to refresh my French, get those mad skillZ back and pass at least one of the two DALF tests for French and I would like to learn more German and get at least a professional language certificate.

I want to learn new languages.
Arabic, Breton, Gaelic, Spanish, some Scandinavian language, Russian, Italian, Greek, Latin, basic Slavic languages, Esperanto… Some of these, on a purely conversational level.

Either a good engineer or a mad scientist, whichever comes first really

Either a good engineer or a mad scientist, whichever comes first really

I want to learn to code.
Have a friend, Sasha (or Jazzva). He’s awesome at programming. He may not actually be that awesome. He might be just very advanced, but still normal at programming. Compared to my crippled hit-in-head-by-brick-repeatedly approach to coding, he is God. And I would like to do it better than him. Java or some crap. Doesn’t matter. I’d just like to be really good at it. Amazingly speedy, with witty solutions to problems, spending hours just typing endless lines of code that when compiled give out something seriously spectacular. More spectacular than a calculator. Which I still can’t make in NetBeans…

I want to fix a car.
I’m a mechanical engineer, for crying out loud. I should be able to change a tire. Or know where the oil goes. Or know where the water goes. Or know what makes the car run and the gears shift and stuff like that. But, of course, being me, I don’t know diddly squat! So I’d like to spend some time, elbow-high in motor oil, in overalls, surrounded by wrenches and cans and pumps and screwdriver and all that other crap that makes engineering so awesome.

I want to make circuit boards.
Have Eagle, will travel. But seriously. I wanna know how all those little components work, how much power they need to run, what kind of chip I need to use, what kind of resistor, what switch. And how to program the whole thing to do exactly what I want it to do. And then make a PCB in Eagle and just let the machining tool do the rest. How cool would that be? (well, obviously, this seriously depends on your definition of cool)

I want to learn how to cook.
Apparently, when I start cooking, it turns out well. So I would like to have a few dishes in my head that I can easily whip up whenever the occasion calls for it. Hey, I don’t know, I might be entertaining dinner guests or something, you never know. I might need to impress somebody. And cooking always seems to work. “OMIGOSH! U COOK!” and then you shrug and smile and nod and say “Yeah, I dabble a bit here and there”. Play it all casual like and completely ignore the fact that you’ve almost burnt down the entire kitchen along with your neighbor’s cat.

I want to lose weight.
Nobody’s more surprised than I that this comes in so late in the “conversation”. I mean, I drone on and on how I look, and how terrible it is and oh, poor, woe is little ol’ me. And I never do anything about it. Well, I’d like to. (again, surprised by the shortness of this section.

Here represented are two things: cute men and alcohol

Here represented are two things: cute men and alcohol

I want to have (un)healthy amounts of fun.
I want to spend the rest of my non-adult life (so, til I’m 30) getting drunk, partying like it’s 1699 and chasing (and eventually catching) cute guys. I wanna get over this friggin stupid self-imposed slump I’m in and use up the remainder of my youth accordingly, before I have to have sensible shoes and smile at my boss’ lame jokes. I want to go nuts. Dance. Hike. Stay out late. Live outside my head for once. It’s nice to imagine. It’s nice to read. But it’s more fun to just go out there and give it a go. Well, I don’t really know if it is or isn’t, but people say it’s all the rage.

I want to be more active in BEST.
Board of European Students of Technology (BEST for short) is tons of fun with people who are in the same crap you’re in. Their tag line is “Work hard, party harder!”. I think this is connected to the section right above and the image to the right. But it also lets you meet tons of interesting (and inebriated) people, do crazy things together with these people (mostly on international evenings and pub crawls) and it makes for one hell of a CV entry. And when I say “more” active, I mean “at all” since I haven’t been to a meeting in a year. And it’s a shame, since it’s fun.

I want to join IAESTE.
which is kinda like BEST, but more work related. Again, a CV can never ever be too full.

And that’s about it for this entry. I’m sure there’s more stuff, but I’m also sure it’ 4.38AM and I should really get some sleep before mum comes in, sees me at the laptop and kills me. Because then I’ll never get to do any of the stuff on this list… Or make another list 🙂

 

2 Responses to “About what I want pt.1”

  1. bb Says:

    Correct translation for some subjects:

    Random occurrences –> Random phenomena

    Electro… –> Electrical engineering

    Material resistance –> Strength of materials

    Production technology –> Manufacturing technologies

    Production planning and execution –> Production planning and control

    Your humble student

    bb

    😀


Leave a comment